Heritage/Historic Commission 2022

Annual Town Report

Established by a Town Meeting vote in 1987, the Historic District Commission became a combined Heritage/Historic District Commission in 1998 by a Town Council vote pursuant to state enabling legislation. As a body appointed by the Town whose powers and duties are governed by state statute, the Commission consists of seven members and up to five alternate members, all who are residents of the Town. The Commission oversees the preservation of historical and cultural resources, educates the public on matters of historical interest, and works with other boards, committees and commissions to assure responsible development that reflects the Town's Master Plan.

As a Historic District Commission, the Commission governs five pieces of property that are in a zoning overlay district designated Historic District (by vote of a Town Meeting and subsequently by Town Council):

- (1) the Town Common (owned by the Town of Londonderry);
- (2) the *Kent Allen Forest* formerly known as the *Town Wood Lot* or *Town Forest* (owned by the Town of Londonderry and the parcel directly south and west of the Town Common);
- (3) the Morrison House Museum on Pillsbury Road (owned by the Londonderry Historical Society);
- (4) the Grange #44 facility (owned by the Grange #44); and
- (5) the Two Litchfield Road property (owned by CC Properties, LLC).

Changes within the Historic Districts must be approved by the Heritage/Historic District Commission according to the Town of Londonderry Zoning Ordinance, Section 4.6.2. Outside of the Historic District, the Commission also oversees the Town Pound (owned by the Town of Londonderry and restored in 1990) on Mammoth Road.

The Commission is also responsible for implementation of the recommendations from the Historic Properties Task Force Report (adopted by the Town Council in 2006) which includes periodically updating Londonderry's List of Historic Structures and Properties (contained within the Report). The list serves to protect the designated properties by using a variety of tools, keeping any measures voluntary. The Commission acts as a valuable resource center for historic structures in Londonderry and restoration information.

The Commission's goals include preserving historically significant properties, furthering the protection and restoration of stonewalls and other historic features, assisting the Londonderry Historical Society with improving the functionality of the Morrison House Museum and the potential community usage of the Grange #44 facility, and protecting tree lined vistas and local designation of scenic roads. Designated by the Town Council to be a Local Scenic Byway Advisory Committee, the Commission reaffirmed the Apple Way scenic and cultural byway designation (originally designated in 1996).

As part of the planning design review process, the Heritage/Historic District Commission reviews applications for new development, commenting on landscaping, viewsheds, lighting, signage and architectural design for all new multifamily, commercial and industrial developments. The Commission makes recommendations to the Planning Board regarding the preservation of historic buildings, stonewalls and other historic features. This year, the Commission reviewed 27 applications consisting of 14 site plans, six subdivision plans, one lot line adjustment, one rezoning, two condominium conversions, two conditional use permits, one certificate of approval. The Commission also heard a request for the removal of a stone wall in the Lorden Commons Development which the Commission denied. Bryan Young, member of the Street Naming Committee, gave an informative and interesting presentation to the Commission regarding the process of developing names for new streets.

The Commission received an application for a certificate of approval in the Kent Allen Forest for the installation of a public safety access road for emergency personnel. This request was initiated by Dave Wholley, Director of Public Works & Municipal Facilities. The Commission conducted a site walk and held several meetings (including a special meeting) to review and discuss the project before conducting a public hearing. At the public hearing, the request was unanimously approved. The Commission continues to monitor the changes to the Kent Allen Forest to ensure to that it continues to be the gem that Kent Allen envisioned.

The Commission also heard from David Ellis, a local historian, who enlightened the Commission on Dismore Corner, the intersection of Pillsbury and High Range Road, a historical mecca of both business and travel related activites. The information presented by Mr. Ellis, especially the travels of President Andrew Jackson, led the Commission to further review and update the Apple Corridor Management Plan and ultimately approving changes making it more historically accurate.

The Town of Londonderry is a Certified Local Government giving the Commission access to a variety of grants. Working with the New Hampshire Division of Historic Resources, the Commission hopes to obtain a grant to assist in the preparation of an inventory of historical properties located in Town. The Commission welcomes the opportunity to work collaboratively with the Southern New Hampshire Planning Commission on other grant applications as they may arise.

The Commission also wants to thank our town staff, Town Planner Kellie Walsh, Associate Planner Laura Gandia, GIS Manager Amy Kizak, and Beth Morrison, Land Use Assistant for their valued assistance and expertise. The Commission also welcomed its newest alternate member, Lee Jeffers.

The Commission convenes every other month on the fourth Thursday (starting in January) at 7 pm in the Sunnycrest conference room in Town Hall, 268B Mammoth Road except in November, when it meets on the third Thursday. The Commission welcomes and encourages the public to attend these meetings.

Respectfully submitted,

Krystopher Kenney, Chair

Arthur E. Rugg, Vice-Chair/Planning Board Member

John Mahon, Secretary

David Colglazier, Commissioner

Sue Joudrey, Commissioner

Kristen Endyke, Commissioner

Laura Schenkman, Commissioner (alternate)

Lee Jeffers, Commissioner (alternate)

Jim Butler, Town Council Ex-Officio